Literary Studies

The works of M. Yunys: Characteristic features of constructing a national myth

Abstract: 

The article discusses characteristic features of constructing a national myth in M. Yunys's prose and journalism. In his works, actualization of national issues has generally ideological roots. In the course of deep reflection, while analyzing national identity, self-knowledge and consciousness, the author mythologizes the national image of the world. One of the first stages of the national myth formation is the idea of the national “us” based on comparison with “them”, which is perceived as “other”. The significant feature of M. Yunys's prose and journalism is nationalization of a chronotope. If we consider national existential concepts within a constructivist paradigm, we find different mechanisms of mythologization. The process of national identification and nationalization of a chronotope is based on a certain model, presented by chronotopes “motherland – the path of searching for happiness – return”, which is found in the majority of his works (for example, the trilogy “Travel”, the novel “Reflections en Route”, the story “To Find and to Lose”, the story “Our House Was under the Willows”, etc.). This model is motivated by sociocultural prerequisites developing into the concept “the fate of the people”. In his prosaic and publicistic works, creation of myths is of cognitive nature with modeling potential.

Key words: 

national myth, national image of the world, M. Yunys, Tatar literature, national identity, image of “them”, image of “us”.

Image-symbols in M. Gafuri’s poetry

Abstract: 

The article explores the functional and semantic field of image-symbols in the works of M. Gafuri. The poet actively addresses aesthetic possibilities of symbolization in his verses. In his poetry, allegorical thinking and a combination of conventionality with intense lyrical-emotional moments hold an important place. At the same time, the core of his work includes symbols, or allegorical images that become the “center” of the depicted picture of the world, a means of evaluation and a source of expressing philosophical thought.

The scientific novelty of our research is determined by a different approach to the study of M. Gafuri's work: In the course of the study, we focus on the features of symbolization, figurative thinking of the poet, on the semantic nuances of symbolic images and their substantial philosophical underpinnings. By using the structural-semiotic analysis and evaluating the poet’s works in their ideological and aesthetic integrity in terms of the new methodological approach, we make it possible for researchers to identify new dimensions in the creative work of M. Gafuri.

In the course of our research, we have found that different types of image-symbols dominate in different periods of the poet's work, which is promoted by a change in sociocultural landmarks in the national artistic thinking. The article identifies the diachronic transformations of image-symbols in M. Gafuri’s poems and confirms the changes in the artistic thinking and the world outlook of the poet.

Key words: 

interpretation, image-symbol, Tatar poetry, myth, transformation, M. Gafuri.

The tales of “The Thousand and One Nights”: History and translations

Abstract: 

This article discusses the issues of the origin of an oriental “literary monument”, the popular collection of medieval fairy-tales entitled “The Thousand and One Nights”, and its penetration into the folklore of European countries, particularly into Russia through its translations.

According to researchers, this work is a joint creation of the peoples from the Middle East, Central and South Asia, which is proved by the Iranian, Arabic and Indian color found in the collection.

The article analyzes different opinions expressed in the East and West with regard to Scheherazade’s fairy tales. It studies various references to the stories of “The Nights” from ancient times to the present day and provides information about numerous translations made in Europe, from Galland’s translation in France to Salye’s in Russia.

The purpose of the research is to study the history of creation of “The Nights” and how it spread across countries owing to its translations. We also consider the features of perception of this collection in the West and East in terms of various cultural aspects, prove the significance of this work for world literature and demonstrate the importance of translations, which played a significant role in spreading this literary monument throughout the world.

The novelty of the research lies in the fact that for the first time an attempt has been made to trace how “The Thousand and One Nights”, translated into different languages, spread in Western countries, as well as in Russia.

Key words: 

“The Thousand and One Nights”, Scheherazade, Eastern literature, Iranian, Arabic and Indian folk tales, translation.

“Metaficational signals” in Daniel Kelman's novel “Measuring the World”

Abstract: 

The article analyzes how the category of metaphysicality is implemented in the novel “Measuring the World” (“Die Vermessung der Welt”, 2006) by modern Austrian writer Daniel Kehlmann (Daniel Kehlmann, born 1975). The main characters of the novel are mathematician Carl Friedrich Gauss (1777–1855) and naturalist traveler Alexander von Humboldt (1769–1859). In reconstructing the historical context, we deal with the functioning of real-historical prototypes (Carlos Montufar, Aime J. A. Bonpland). The article considers metaphysicality in the form of a narrative strategy that reveals the relationship of the literary text with reality. We also analyze the ways of implementing a metaphysical game in the structure of fictional text at various textual levels: thematic, stylistic, compositional, and at the level of content. The article raises the issue of genre modifications of the historical novel in modern Austrian literature and discusses authorial attitudes to the poetics of the historical novel, in particular, authorial preferences in selecting historical personalities. We prove that the study of the historical novel through the prism of metaphysicality is productive, since this approach allows us to trace the “dosage” of historical and fictional truth, to better understand authorial intentions, to correlate historical fact and fiction, and to compare the fictional world of the novel with reality.

Key words: 

historical novel; Kehlmann; fiction; historical context, metaphysicality.

Comparative poetics of genres: I. S. Turgenev’s prose poem “What Am I Supposed to Think of?” and F. Amirkhan’s naser “Tagzia” (“Consolation”)

Abstract: 

The article analyzes the prose poem and naser, genres of Russian and Tatar literature, in a comparative aspect. The work aims to investigate their poetics, based on I. S. Turgenev’s work “What Am I Supposed to Think of?” and F. Amirkhan’s “Tagzia”, to find out the character of genre correlation in the context of various linguistic, artistic, and cultural traditions. We have found that the rhythm of Turgenev’s prose poem resembles the rhythm of a verse, it is mainly created by means of short stanzas (verses), which have a special composition. In contrast to I. S. Turgenev’s poem, long lines occupy a special place in the poetics of the naser “Consolation”, which can be explained by the history of Tatar poetry and prose (H. Usmanov, H. Kurbatov, etc.). Long lines are complete in their meanings, they make up a maxim or an aphoristic statement, conveying the rhythm of the character’s speech. The rhythm of F. Amirkhan’s naser corresponds to the rhythm of the Tatar folk song (“a sad song”). The melodic base of the “Consolation” is created by the means of frequent repetitions, anaphora, inversion, and rhymes of certain sentences. The article concludes that compared genres are unique, and their uniqueness is revealed, in an original way, in the dialogue of Russian classics and Tatar literature of the early 20th century.

Key words: 

genres comparison, poetics, naser, prose poem, rhythm, long lines, verse.

Biography and pseudo biography of Henry James in Dan Simmons’s detective novel “The Fifth Heart”

Abstract: 

Novice researchers of Henry James’s works accept “The Fifth Heart” by Dan Simmons as a realist work, which allegedly raises the issue of American and British national identity. However, this novel has a different interpretation. The article shows that the novel should be referred to the “mainstream literature”. Detective Sherlock Holmes investigates mysterious suicide of Clover Adams, a real-life wife of historian and politician Henry Adams. Such renowned authors as Henry James, Henry Adams, Mark Twain, and William Dean Howells become fictional personalities, “a sign” in Simmons’s work, although their discourse consists of actual letters and diary records. The dynamic plot, revolving around the figure of Sherlock Holmes, is composed of unbelievable fantastic, almost fairy tale events. Holmes appears as a kind of superman who has power over the most extraordinary situations. Impossible adventures are substantiated by documentary details: addresses of clubhouses, drinking establishments and nobility mansions, travel itineraries - all these give the impression of authenticity. Simmons treats James’s biography in a voluntaristic way creating a pseudo biography of the author of “The Portrait of a Lady” who allegedly makes a decision to commit suicide because of a cold reception of his novels. Despite the author’s belletristic mastery, numerous clichés, found in his work, fill some readers with “enthusiastic awe”, others experience confusion over his voluntaristic interpretation of Henry James’s personality.

Key words: 

Dan Simmons, Henry James, Sherlock Holmes, “The Fifth Heart”, detective, biography, pseudo biography, fiction.

The сontemporaries of L. Tolstoy as the types of characters in “Anna Karenina” (based on the encyclopedia “Leo Tolstoy and His Contemporaries”)

Abstract: 

Based on the encyclopedia “Leo Tolstoy and His Contemporaries” the article discusses the contemporaries of Leo Tolstoy, who became the prototypes of his characters in the novel “Anna Karenina” due to some features of their character, their physical and spiritual appearance, or their destiny. Thus, Perfiliev Vasily Stepanovich (1826-1890), a close friend of Tolstoy and the vice-governor and governor of Moscow the last years of his life, became the prototype of Steve Oblonsky. Gartung Maria Aleksandrovna (1832-1919), the eldest daughter of Alexander Pushkin, “prompted” a portrait of Anna Karenina by her outward appearance. According to the biographical data, the fate of Anna Karenina is the fate of Tolstoy’s sister Maria Nikolaevna. The scene when Levin confesses his love to Kitty also has a link to the biographical fact from Tolstoy’s life. Many other characters of Leo Tolstoy, including Anna Karenina, have their literary ancestors in Pushkin’s life and work. Of interest is the story about the creation of Leo Tolstoy’s portrait, executed by I. N. Kramskoy, and its connection with individual episodes from the novel “Anna Karenina” (the image of artist Mikhailov). In general, we  emphasize that the historical and biographical materials of the encyclopedia “Leo Tolstoy and His Contemporaries” enable us to deeper understand the images from the novel “Anna Karenina” in terms of their artistic creation. This article reveals the possibilities of using this publication in both research and teaching work on the history of creation of Leo Tolstoy's most real-life novel, “Anna Karenina”.

Key words: 

L. N. Tolstoy's novel “Anna Karenina”, prototype, V. S. Perfiliev, M. A. Hartung, M. N. Tolstaya.

Essay writing in literary works of A. Genatulin

Abstract: 

The article considers the genre and style features of essays by A. Genatulin, the famous Russian-speaking writer of Bashkortostan, who is more than ninety years old. The writer is a veteran, a witness and a participant of the major historical events, among which the main one is the Great Patriotic War. In his essays, the writer reflects not only on the tragic past, but also on the present day of the country. His view of the past and current events is distinguished by real integrity and his uncompromising stand. The writer represents “the lost generation”, those who had lived expecting happy changes, only to see their hopes for the bright future ruined. It is with bitterness that they state the depreciation of moral values, which they had been selflessly faithful to. His extreme honesty, frank non-trivial and independent reflections leave no doubt that his observations are the fruit really gained and endured, there is no false pathos in his works, nothing tactical and momentary. The analysis convinces us that there is a deep internal communication between all the writer’s works, irrespective of the genre determined by the author himself. All of them interact, forming a uniform hypertext, which is characterized by lyricism and unique intonation.

Key words: 

Genatulin's works, essay, Great Patriotic War, hypertext, lyricism of prose.

A long road of Russian generals: Between the truth of fact and the truth of life

Abstract: 

The article gives a literary interpretation of the Civil War memory and its heroes in contemporary Russian fiction. The subject matter of our analysis is pieces of writing where historic content is represented by a text – documentary or functioning as a document: the novels “The Winter Road. General A. N. Pepelyaev and Anarchist I. Y. Strod in Yakutia. 1922–1923” by L. Yuzeffovitch and “Soloviev and Larionov” by E. Vodolazkin.

The Russian readership perception is characterized by a visible interest in non-fiction. With all the differences in the writers’ personal styles (L.Yuzeffovitch’s narration is based on a document and represents non-fiction, whereas the piece of writing by E. Vodolazkin is built upon pseudo scientific-detective intrigue), both of them possess research pathos and understanding of the need to artistically resolve the ontological conflict within the unified Russian history. The article makes an attempt to analyze the poetics of literary works and particularly to evaluate the constructive plot-generating role of a documentary text (or claiming to be as such) as a method of reconstructing a story in the fictional space of the novels.

This research enabled us to specify different levels of the literary work construction and various readers’ receptive positions as well as to justify the humanistic concept of the authorial view of man within the limits designated by historical circumstances.

Key words: 

historic content, documentary text, non-fiction, writing style, L. Yuzeffovitch, E. Vodolazkin.

“Literariness vs Documentality” as an authorial strategy in the contemporary biography (based on the series “Zhizn’ Zamechatel’nykh Lyudei” (Life of Remarkable People)

Abstract: 

The biographical genre is traditionally popular with Russian readers and this tradition dates back to the Soviet era when the book series “Zhizn’ zamechatel’nykh lyudei” was extremely popular on the book market. Recently this interest has decreased to some extent, although certain books have provoked discussions not only in literary criticism, but also in literary studies. On the other hand, the biography industry constitutes a considerable part of the book market in the West, thus new biographical technologies and individual know-how have become the subject of a special research analysis.

Despite the fact that the range of works, devoted to theoretical and historical aspects of the biographical genre, is quite large, and the names of their authors (from G. Mish to M. Bakhtin, S. Averintsev, N. Bogomolov, etc.) are treated with reverence, nowadays biography that exists in new sociocultural and literary conditions needs new understanding for the reasons of great pressure exercised by the publishing industry and the mass culture society. In this context, the book series “Zhizn’ zamechatel’nykh lyudei” requires a careful analysis of the author's strategies, used in its creation, of the system of the “serial” preferences and reasons for the preservation / destruction of the genre conventions. The selected biographies of prominent Russian literary scholars M. Bakhtin, D. Likhachev and V. Shklovskiy make it possible to speak of the main trends in the development of the literary biography subgenre and to identify the consequences of using such authorial strategy as excessive and aggressive literariness at the expense of traditional documentality.

Key words: 

biographical genre, the book series “Zhizn’ zamechatel’nykh lyudei”, authortal strategy, literariness, documentality, M. M. Bakhtin, D. S. Likhachev, V. B. Shklovskiy.

Syndicate content

Литературоведение

Образы-символы в поэзии М. Гафури

Аннотация: 

В статье раскрывается функциональное и смысловое поле образов-символов в творчестве М. Гафури. В ходе исследования утверждается, что в своем творчестве поэт активно обращается к эстетическим возможностям символизации. В его поэзии важное место занимают тяготение к аллегорическому мышлению, сочетание условности с напряженными лирико-эмоциональными моментами. В то же время сердцевину произведений составляют символы или аллегорические образы, которые становятся «центром» изображенной картины мира, средством оценки и источником выражения философской мысли.

Научная новизна определяется иным подходом к изучению творчества М. Гафури: в процессе исследования акцентируется внимание на особенности символизации, образного мышления поэта, выявление смысловых нюансов символических образов и их субстанциональной философской подосновы. Структурно-семиотический анализ произведений, оценка их в идейно-эстетической целостности, произведенная с новых методологических позиций, дадут возможность выделить новые грани в творчестве М. Гафури.

В ходе исследования выявляется, что в разные периоды творчества поэта доминируют разные виды образов-символов. Этому способствует смена социокультурных ориентиров в национальном художественном мышлении. Определение диахронических трансформаций образов-символов в стихотворениях М. Гафури дает возможность утверждать об изменениях в художественном мышлении и мировоззрении поэта.

Ключевые слова: 

интерпретация, образ-символ, татарская поэзия, миф, трансформация, М. Гафури.

«Тысяча и одна ночь»: история и переводы

Аннотация: 

В данной статье рассматривается вопрос о возникновении литературного памятника Востока, популярного сборника средневековых сказок под названием «Тысяча и одна ночь», о его проникновении в европейскую культуру, в том числе в Россию, через переводы.

По мнению исследователей, данное произведение – всеобщее творение народов Ближнего Востока, Средней и Южной Азии. Доказательство этому – присутствующий в сборнике иранский, арабский и индийский колорит.

Касательно финальной версии этой книги можно говорить о вкладе арабов, вдохновленных житейской мудростью повествований иранских и индийских рассказчиков и впоследствии переписавших их на свой лад, при этом сборник в процессе формирования впитывал в себя культурные особенности арабского мира.

В статье проанализированы различные мнения по поводу сказок Шахерезады на Востоке и Западе. Рассматриваются разные упоминания о рассказах «1000 ночей» с древних времен и до наших дней. Также приводятся сведения о множестве переводов, выполненных в странах Европы, начиная с перевода Галлана во Франции и заканчивая Салье в России.

Цель исследования заключается в изучении истории возникновения «Книги тысячи и одной ночи» и распространения ее в разных странах через переводы, особенностей рецепции сборника на Западе и Востоке с точки зрения различных культурных аспектов и доказательстве значимости данного произведения для мировой художественной литературы, а также значимости переводов, сыгравших роль в распространении по всему миру данного литературного памятника.

Новизна исследования заключается в том, что впервые предпринимается попытка проследить пути распространения переведенного на разные языки сборника «Тысяча и одна ночь» в странах Запада, а также в России.

Ключевые слова: 

«Тысяча и одна ночь», Шахерезада, восточная литература, индийские, иранские, арабские народные сказки, перевод.

«Метафикциональные сигналы» в романе Даниэля Кельмана «Измеряя мир»

Аннотация: 

Статья посвящена анализу способов реализации категории метафикциональности в романе «Измеряя мир» («Die Vermessung der Welt», 2006) современного австрийского писателя Даниэля Кельмана (Daniel Kehlmann, род. 1975). Главными героями романа являются математик Карл Фридрих Гаусс (Carl Friedrich Gauß, 1777–1855) и натуралист-путешественник Александр фон Гумбольдт (Alexander von Humboldt, 1769–1859). Авторы статьи касаются проблемы функционирования реальных исторических прототипов (Карлос Монтуфар, Эме Бонплан) при воссоздании исторического контекста. Метафикциональность рассматривается в виде нарративной стратегии, выявляющей отношения литературного текста с реальностью. Анализируются способы реализации метафикциональной игры в структуре художественного текста на различных текстовых уровнях: тематическом, стилевом, композиционном, содержательном. Поднимается вопрос о жанровых модификациях исторического романа в современной австрийской литературе. Рассматривается авторская установка на поэтику исторического романа, в частности речь идет об авторских предпочтениях при отборе исторических персоналий. Доказывается, что исследование исторического романа через призму метафикциональности продуктивно, поскольку данный подход позволяет проследить «дозированность» исторической и художественной правды, лучше понять авторскую интенцию, соотнести исторический факт с художественным вымыслом, сопоставить фикциональный мир романа с реальностью.

Ключевые слова: 

исторический роман, Кельман, художественный вымысел, исторический контекст, метафикциональность.

Сопоставительная поэтика жанров: стихотворение в прозе И. С. Тургенева «Что я буду думать?» и нэсер Ф. Амирхана «Тəгъзия» («Утешение»)

Аннотация: 

В статье в сопоставительном аспекте анализируются жанры русской и татарской литературы – стихотворение в прозе и нэсер. Ставится цель – исследовать их поэтику на материале произведений И. С. Тургенева «Что я буду делать?» и Ф. Амирхана «Тәгъзия» («Утешение»), выяснить характер корреляции жанров в контексте разных языковых, художественных и культурных традиций. Установлено, что ритм стихотворения в прозе И. С. Тургенева приближен к стиховому ритму, он создается прежде всего с помощью коротких строф (версе), которые имеют свою композицию в произведении. В отличие от произведения И. С. Тургенева, в поэтике нэсер «Утешение» особое место занимают длинные строчки, что объясняется историей татарского стиха и прозы (Х. Усманов, Х. Курбатов и др.). Длинные строчки завершены в смысловом содержании, они образуют сентенцию или афористическое высказывание, передавая ритмичность речи героя. Выяснено, что ритм нэсер Ф. Амирхана также соотносится с ритмом татарской народной песни (моӊлы көй). Мелодическая основа «Утешения» создается с помощью частых повторов, анафоры, инверсии, встречаются рифмы в отдельных предложениях. В статье сделан вывод об уникальности сопоставляемых жанров, которая по-своему раскрывается в диалоге русской классики и татарской литературы начала XX века.

Ключевые слова: 

сопоставление жанров, поэтика, нэсер, стихотворение в прозе, ритм, длинные строчки, версе.

Специфика конструирования национального мифа в творчестве М. Юныса

Аннотация: 

В статье рассмотрена специфика конструирования национального мифа в прозе и публицистике М. Юныса. Актуализация проблемы национального в его творчестве в основном имеет идеологические корни. В процессе глубокой рефлексии, анализа национальной идентичности, самопознания и самосознания, автор одновременно мифологизирует национальный образ мира. Одним из первых этапов формирования национального мифа являются представления о национальном «мы» на основе сопоставления «другого», который воспринимается как «чужой». Требующей внимания особенностью в прозе и публицистике М. Юныса является национализация хронотопа. Если рассматривать национальные пространственно-временные концепты в рамках конструктивистской парадигмы, то обнаруживаются разные механизмы мифологизации. Процесс национальной идентификации и национализации хронотопа выстраивается на своеобразной модели, представленной хронотопами «родина – дорога в поисках счастья – возвращение», которая обнаруживается в большинстве произведений М. Юныса (например, трилогия «Путешествие», роман «Раздумья в пути», повесть «Найти и потерять», рассказ «Наш дом был под ивами» и др.). Она мотивирована социокультурными предпосылками, складывающимися в концепт «судьба народа». Мифотворчество в его прозаических и публицистических произведениях носит сознательный характер и имеет моделирующий потенциал.

Ключевые слова: 

национальный миф, национальный образ мира, М. Юныс, татарская литература, национальная идентичность, образ «другой», образ «мы».

иография и псевдобиография Генри Джеймса в романе Дэна Симмонса «Пятое сердце»

Аннотация: 

Начинающие исследователи творчества Генри Джеймса воспринимают роман «Пятое сердце» Дэна Симмонса как реалистическое произведение, в котором будто бы поставлена проблема национальной идентичности американцев и англичан. Однако этот роман имеет иную трактовку. В статье показано, что роман относится к литературе «массового спроса». Детектив Шерлок Холмс расследует загадочное самоубийство Кловер Адамс, реально существовавшей супруги историка и политического деятеля Генри Адамса. Известные писатели Генри Джеймс, Генри Адамс, Марк Твен, Уильям Дин Хоуэллс под пером Симмонса превращаются в фикцию личности, в «знак», хотя их дискурс состоит из реальных писем и дневниковых записей. Динамично развивающийся сюжет, в центре которого находится Холмс, состоит из невероятных, фантастических, почти сказочных происшествий. Холмс выступает здесь в обличии супермена, которому подвластны самые необычайные ситуации. Невозможные в реальности приключения обоснованы документально достоверными подробностями: адреса клубов, питейных заведений, особняков знати, маршруты передвижения – все это создает у читателя впечатление достоверности. Симмонс волюнтаристски обращается с биографией Джеймса, создавая псевдобиографию автора «Женского портрета», якобы решившего покончить с собой из-за холодного приема его романов. Клишированность книги, несмотря на беллетристическое мастерство автора, вызывает у одних «восторженную оторопь», у других недоумение в связи с волюнтаристской трактовкой личности Джеймса.

Ключевые слова: 

Дэн Симмонс, Генри Джеймс, Шерлок Холмс, «Пятое сердце», детектив, биография, псевдобиография, беллетристика.

Современники Л. Н. Толстого – типы героев романа «Анна Каренина» (на материале энциклопедии «Лев Толстой и его современники»)

Аннотация: 

В статье на материале энциклопедии «Лев Толстой и его современники» говорится о современниках Л. Н. Толстого, которые какими-то чертами характера, своим физическим и духовным обликом, своей судьбой стали прототипами его романа «Анна Каренина». Так, Перфильев Василий Степанович (1826–1890) – близкий друг Толстого, в последние годы своей жизни занимавший посты вице-губернатора и губернатора Москвы, стал прототипом Стивы Облонского, Гартунг Мария Александровна (1832–1919), старшая дочь А. С. Пушкина, своим внешним обликом «подсказала» портрет Анны Карениной. По свидетельству биографических документов, судьба Анны Карениной – судьба сестры Толстого Марии Николаевны. Сцена объяснения в любви Левина и Кити имеет тоже ссылку к биографическому факту из жизни Толстого. Многие другие герои Л. Н. Толстого, в том числе Анна Каренина, имеют своих литературных предков у А. С. Пушкина. Представляется весьма интересной история создания портрета Л. Н. Толстого, выполненного И. Н. Крамским, и связь ее с отдельными эпизодами романа «Анна Каренина» (образ художника Михайлова). В целом необходимо подчеркнуть, что историко-биографические материалы энциклопедии «Лев Толстой и его современники» дают возможность более глубокого осмысления образов романа «Анна Каренина» в свете их творческого создания. Данная статья говорит о возможностях работы с данным изданием в процессе как научной, так и преподавательской работы над историей создания самого жизненного романа Л. Н. Толстого «Анна Каренина».

Ключевые слова: 

роман Л. Н. Толстого «Анна Каренина», прототип, В. С. Перфильев, М. А. Гартунг, М. Н. Толстая.

Эссеистика А. Генатулина в контексте творчества писателя

Аннотация: 

Предметом рассмотрения в статье стали жанровые и стилевые особенности эссе А. Генатулина, известного русскоязычного писателя Башкортостана, преодолевшего девяностолетний рубеж. Писатель-фронтовик стал свидетелем и участником важнейших исторических событий, среди которых главное – Великая Отечественная война. В своих эссе писатель размышляет не только о трагическом прошлом, но и о сегодняшнем дне страны. Его взгляд на прошедшие и настоящие события отличается особой правдивостью и бескомпромиссностью. Писатель – представитель «потерянного поколения», всю свою жизнь прожившего в ожидании счастливых перемен, увидевшего крушение надежд на светлое будущее, с горечью констатирующего девальвацию ценностей, которым беззаветно служило. Предельная честность, откровенность многих нетривиальных и независимых размышлений писателя не оставляют сомнений в том, что его наблюдения – плод по-настоящему выстраданного и пережитого, в его произведениях нет ложного пафоса, нет ничего конъюнктурного и сиюминутного. Анализ убеждает, что между всеми произведениями писателя, независимо от определенного самим автором жанра, существует глубокая внутренняя связь, все они взаимодействуют, образуя единый гипертекст, характеризующийся лиризмом и неповторимой интонацией.

Ключевые слова: 

творчество А. Генатулина, эссе, Великая Отечественная война, гипертекст, лиризм прозы.

Долгая дорога русских генералов: между правдой факта и правдой жизни

Аннотация: 

Статья посвящена проблеме художественного осмысления памяти о Гражданской войне и ее героях в современной русской литературе. Предметом анализа являются произведения, в которых историческое содержание представлено текстом – документальным или выполняющим функцию документа: романы Л. Юзефовича «Зимняя дорога. Генерал А. Н. Пепеляев и анархист И. Я Строд в Якутии. 1922–1923» и Е. Водолазкина «Соловьев и Ларионов».

Интерес к документальной литературе стал заметной тенденцией, характеризующей особенности восприятия российской читательской аудитории. При всей разнице творческих манер писателей (повествование Л. Юзефовича опирается на документ и представляет собой литературу нон-фикшн, художественное произведение Е. Водолазкина построено на вымышленной научно-детективной интриге), их объединяет исследовательский пафос и понимание необходимости художественного разрешения онтологического конфликта внутри единой российской истории.

В статье предпринята попытка проанализировать поэтику литературных произведений и, в частности, оценить конструктивную, сюжетообразующую роль документального (или претендующего им быть) текста как способа реконструкции истории в художественном пространстве романов.

Проведенное исследование позволило автору статьи обозначить разные уровни организации художественного материала и, соответственно, различные рецептивные позиции читателей, а также обосновать гуманистическую концепцию писательского взгляда на человека в границах отведенных ему исторических обстоятельств.

Ключевые слова: 

историческое содержание, документальный текст, литература нон-фикшн, творческая манера, Л. Юзефович, Е. Водолазкин.

«Литературность» против документальности как авторская стратегия в современной биографии (на материале последних изданий серии «ЖЗЛ»)

Аннотация: 

Произведения биографического жанра традиционно пользуются популярностью у российского читателя, и традиция эта восходит еще к советским временам, когда серия «Жизнь замечательных людей» была одной из наиболее востребованных на книжном рынке и у читательской аудитории. В последние годы этот интерес несколько уменьшился, хотя отдельные книги становятся поводом не только для литературно-критического, но и литературоведческого обсуждения и даже полемики. С другой стороны, биографическая индустрия составляет немалую часть книгоиздательского производства на Западе, а внедрение новых биографических технологий и отдельных ноу-хау оказывается предметом специального исследовательского анализа.

Несмотря на то что круг работ, посвященных теоретико- и историко-литературному осмыслению биографического жанра достаточно велик, а имена их авторов (от Г. Миша до М. М. Бахтина, С. С. Аверинцева, Н. А. Богомолова и др.) вызывает понятное почтение, современная биография, существующая в новых социокультурных и литературных условиях, подвергающаяся очевидному давлению со стороны книгоиздательской индустрии и «масскультурного» общества, требует внимательного анализа используемых при ее создании авторских стратегий, системы «сериальных» предпочтений и причин сохранения / разрушения жанровых конвенций. В этом контексте серия «ЖЗЛ» представляет достаточно материала для исследования, а выбранные в качестве объекта биографии трех выдающихся отечественных литературоведов: М. М. Бахтина, Д. С. Лихачева и В. Б. Шкловского – дают возможность определить основные тенденции в развитии такого субжанра, как «литературоведческая биография», выявить последствия использования в произведении такой авторской стратегии, как чрезмерная и агрессивная литературность в ущерб традиционной документальности.

Ключевые слова: 

биографический жанр, серия «Жизнь замечательных людей», авторская стратегия, литературность, документальность, М. М. Бахтин, Д. С. Лихачев, В. Б. Шкловский.

RSS-материал